Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ambbutterfly

Growing Sugar Snap Peas

ambbutterfly
16 years ago

First of all, is it best to plant these directly in the garden? Also, they are vines and need support. I'd like some ideas from people who grow them what to use for them to climb up on. I've never grown them before and when I bought the packets of seeds I didn't realize until I got home and was reading the packets (maybe I should have done that in the store instead of just grabbing) that the plants are vines. Arg, didn't know that! I'm hoping that I'd be able to use something that wouldn't cost a lot. I was looking at hardware cloth (wire) at the hardware store but my gosh, at $3.69/ft and needing 40 feet of it, ha yeah like I'm going to spend $150 for wire to grow peas, I don't think so! I just don't know what to use. Waaaah, help!

Comments (18)

• booberry85
    16 years ago

This is my first year with winter sowing. However, I have growm Sugar Snap peas before. I have a 2 1/2 foot rabbit fence (wire) that goes around my garden. I plant the peas along the fence. I know I never would have paid $150.00 for it! Maybe more like $20 - $25 at Lowes or Home Depot (maybe 100 feet of fencing.)

• ambbutterfly
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Oh well, that's not expensive! I'll have to look next time I get over that way. I only planted flowers last year and the year before for the butterflies and thought I'd also plant a veggie garden this year to save on our costs. Vegetables along with everything else is getting to be so expensive, so I thought we could save pretty much money by me growing some of the veggies that we eat. I thought it would be dumb to pay as much or more for the wire than the veggies are worth! lol I hope that our Lowes has the rabbit fence for that price because I don't think that's a bad price. I was under the impression that I'd need something higher since I think the pack said the vines climb for 4 feet.

• dirtbert
    16 years ago