Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
loisthegardener_nc7b

First Sprout on Winter-sown Tomatoes

This is my first year growing tomatoes, and I planted some inside and some outside. My inside ones grew quickly to about 3 inches tall and stalled out. Now I have to deal with the hardening off process, which is going to be a challenge for me since I can't be there during the day on a weekday.

I got my first sprout today from the wintersown tomatoes today and I think I like the wintersowing process a lot better than growing indoors. I wintersowed them in jugs and 2 liter soda bottles. I had them just sitting out for the last 2 weeks, and they were not germinating. Last night, I put them in a large plastic box and today I saw a Brandywine sprout. I can't help but wonder whether the extra protection of the larger box kept the warmth in at nighttime to allow them to sprout sooner. So, I guess I will transfer them in and out of the box for another couple weeks until the soil in the larger pots warms up enough for them.

So, how do people protect their full grown tomatoes in the fall from the first few cool nights so as to get those last few tomatoes to ripen?

Lois in PA

Comments (29)

• highalttransplant
    15 years ago

Lois, by the time our first frost rolled around, my tomato plants were a jungle, way too big to cover with a row cover without a lot of time involved, so I chose to harvest the ripe ones, then cut the remaining plants down, and hang them upside down in the garage.

{{gwi:374118}}

Some folks pick the green ones and place them in cardboard boxes with layers of newspaper between them, but someone told me hanging them would keep more of the vine ripened flavor, so that's what I did. This is only my second year to WS tomatoes though, so I'm sure some of the more experienced tomatoheads will have more advice for you.

Bonnie

• PVick
    15 years ago