Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hopgood_gw

Worried about sprouts....

hopgood
13 years ago

This is my first year winter sowing and I'm a bit worried about my seeds. Things began to sprout back in March starting with the poppies. They seem to be doing fine. However, the rest of my containers only have one or two sprouts of each variety. Some sprouted in March and others the begining of April. I'm worried that the rest of the seeds won't sprout. Is it normal to have one sprout for a couple of weeks? Will the rest of them sprout into hunks o' seedlings? I had the flats on my picnic table but thought perhaps the wind cooled things down so I have put them on the ground and it seems to have made a difference in the temperature inside the containers. Any winter sowing wisdom is welcome:)

Comments (21)

• gardenweed_z6a
    13 years ago

My sprouts are slowing popping up but they're few and far between. Only about 25 jugs have sprouted so far out of nearly 300. It's been a cold spring where I am plus my jugs are mostly in the shade on my breezeway. The penstemon jugs all sprouted at once a few days ago and it looks like 100% germination on those seeds. Others there's been a single sprout in the jug for at least a week. It's way too early to give up on any of them. I know the waiting is the tough part for lots of folks but they'll sprout if they're meant to in their own good time.

• pippi21
    13 years ago