Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greengardener07

Coneflower germination???

greengardener07
16 years ago

Hi All,

Since I have noticed that more and more sprouts are peeking their way through the soil, I have also noticed that none of my coneflowers have popped up to say hi.

Are they late sprouters??

Comments (25)

• Ann
    16 years ago

I think they must be because other than the Tennessee coneflowers where I had good germination, the rest of my coneflower containers are just sitting there waiting...but I'm just an almost newbie and am still learning so maybe someone else has better information.

• docmom_gw
    16 years ago

I have cone flowers up. We've had three days in a row in the 60s and sunny, so lots of sprouts have started to pop up.
    Martha

• kqcrna
    16 years ago

I have sown them in the past and they sprouted late. I didn't sow any this year, though.

Karen

• tiffy_z5_6_can
    16 years ago

Yep, late ones. Talking Echinacea here.

• carrie630
    16 years ago

Mine were very late also.

Carrie

• bakemom_gw
    16 years ago

My echinacea has not sprouted yet.

• mo_girl
    16 years ago

My echinacea is not up yet either. I sowed them fairly recently though. The only problem is somehow I left the milk jug lid on for several days without noticing. Now I'm gonna wonder if they're just slow or if the seeds got fried.

I really want echinacea though, so I might try a second sowing with the few seeds I held back just to be sure.

• tracyvine
    16 years ago