Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
efeuer

Tender annuals

Liz
9 years ago

First of all, most of my sprouts are up! This is my first year winter sowing and I was thrilled today to go out and see that most of my jugs have little sprouts! I am doing plants for a butterfly garden, mostly native.

I wanted to add some butterfly annuals as well, so last weekend I planted several jugs with Mexican sunflower, zinnia, and Yvonne's Salvia. I live in New Jersey and the temperatures are starting to moderate here, but we could still get frost for another four or five weeks. Right now I have the jugs indoors, where they haven't popped yet since it's only been a few days. I don't really have enough light inside, though, and I would like to get them out into the sun as soon as possible. Is it safe to move them outside yet?

(I was hoping to get them under fluorescent lights since I have a setup in the basement, but I had the basement waterproofed this winter and everything is still at sixes and sevens down there and the lights are not set up yet.:-(. That is why I find myself in difficulties.)

Comments (8)

• ontheteam
    9 years ago

I don't do annuals except for Tomatoes ..I am in SE MA zone 5 and have 38 jugs for tomatoes out now,,So I guess if I did do Annuals I would have them out side now also.

Here is a link that might be useful: My blog

• ladyrose65
    9 years ago

dr. Liz, I would put them outside in two-weeks. It still gets very cold at night or you can put them out, but put a plastic covering or tarp over them at night (prevent from frost). I would wait at least another week for annuals.

I hope this helps.

• ellenr22 - NJ - Zone 6b/7a
    9 years ago

I've just done my annuals.
    It is true we could still have frost in NJ, but unlikely.
    I don't sow that many, so if frost threatens, I cover with a row cover.

• terrene
    9 years ago