Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
terrene_gw

What Sprouted for you today?

terrene
16 years ago

Does anyone else think it would be fun to have a thread where people could post what sprouted for them so far. I'd love to hear how many babies have sprouted, what the weather's been like, see pictures, etc.! :)

This is my first year WSing, and I had my first sprouts on April 1st, April Fools Day. Sweet Alyssum, 'Carpet of Snow'. Since then, I just have to go out every day and check for more sprouts. Well yipppeeeee, there have been more!!!

Yesterday - Alyssum 'Pastel Carpet', Showy Goldenrod (Solidago speciosa)

Today - Perennial Blanket flower (Gaillardia aristata)

So what's sprouting for you today?

Comments (146)

• ladygladys
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Vera, oh shoot I didn't know that about the mexican sunflower! Thanks for the heads up on them. Should I just throw like a towel or something around them in case it gets a bit chilly?

I grew some Aster Crego in a pot last year very late so they didn't go to seed :(. I love their beautiful blooms especially this bluish purple I got last year.

Oh, I just wanted to mention that my Scarlet Flax was from very old seed dated 2001. I can't believe they sprouted!

Today's sprouts:
    Hardy Hibiscus Disco Belle Pink

I think I might have some kind of curse on me with Columbines (rocky mountain blue) because they have not sprouted at all. I sowed some in 2006 and had the same problem zero germination. Has anyone's Columbines sprouted yet?

Gladys

• littleonefb
    15 years ago

Gladys,
    The earliest I've had columbine germinate in 5 years is May 1st. Last years rocky mountain columbine seeds didn't germinate for me till 5/18 and 5/24.

I'm in zone 5 New England and the weather changes are really dramatic in April here. yesterday 84, today 70's and they are predicting 50's next week.

Keep them watered well and give them time. they may germinate for you yet.