Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lceh_gw

Reusing WS containers to root cuttings?

lceh
12 years ago

Now that I've gotten about half of my containers planted out, I'm thinking it's time to get some boxwood and Annabelle hydrangea cuttings going. It occurs to me that my handy-dandy WS milk jugs might be just the thing, if I park them in the shade to get the cuttings going. Has anyone done this? Will it work? I'm a novice to cuttings, but I'm so encouraged by my WS success that I'm eager to try other methods of providing cheap plants for my garden!

Comments (9)

• pippi21
    12 years ago

I've thought of this too..have you cut the top portion of the milk jug away from the bottom part or is the hinge still attached? I would think it might work, but this time of the year, I would make larger holes around the neck of the milk jug. Why not try some cutting in the milk jugs and experiment. You do know that boxwood is a slow grower? Privet hedge grew fast for us. My dear in-laws had boxwoods lining their front walk that had to be at least 10-15 yrs. old and they were still not very big. I think Daddy did his yearly trimming when Mom gave him the instructions how to do them or that they needed trimming.

• gardenunusual
    12 years ago

I have some concord grapes that have rooted just fine in a couple milk jugs. Nothing different except I cut the top portion off, and wrapped the cuttings in plastic to keep the humidity in, making sure there is still air flow.

• sassybutterfly_2008
    12 years ago

I do this but I leave the tops off. Works fantastic. Just make sure they don't dry out since there's no condensation to keep the soil moist.

• kqcrna
    12 years ago

I'd leave the top on to retain humidity. I've not done boxwood or hydrangeas that way, but I have done coleus and petunias. The humidity seems critical in getting them to root. I've used 2 liter pop bottles, inside under lights.

Here, the cuttings were already rooted, top taken off.
    {{gwi:381012}}