Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tamela_star

Mold

tamela_star
10 years ago

This is my first year trying to winter sow. I did one milk jug and the rest were cool whip containers. I kept them out on my porch outside all winter, and when I went to check on them I saw mold. The milk jug with hollyhocks are doing fine and I see sprouts! I'm worried about my other seeds since I saw the white mold. Does anybody know if they'll be okay?

Comments (9)

• ellenr22 - NJ - Zone 6b/7a
    10 years ago

I've never had mold. I've had green stuff on the surface, some kind of algae perhaps, which is not harmful, but I don't know about mold. I wonder if it could have anything to do with the containers, since it only appears on the cool whip containers.

• agathafroo
    10 years ago

How wet is your soil, and how big are your lid holes? The white growth could be the harmful type, or it could be harmless, but either way it usually indicates too much moisture, too little circulation. If it's above 40 degrees today, take your lids off and allow to air out a bit. Put the lids back on if the temp's going to drop below 40 tonight. You can also lightly spray the surface with hydrogen peroxide or chamomile tea to kill off the white stuff that's already there. So your seeds may be fine, only time will tell. Good luck!

• tamela_star
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks, my guess is perhaps too little circulation. I didn't pay much attention to them in the winter and I didn't think mold would grow in the cold. I started some seedlings indoors. Just a few so far. Nothing has sprouted in the cool whip containers yet. Just a couple of holly hocks so far in the milk jug. It's unseasonably cold so maybe that has something to do with the delay in sprouts. Nothing seems to want to grow :(

• caryltoo Z7/SE PA
    10 years ago