Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ellenrr_gw

Tansy?

ellenrr
11 years ago

Anybody ws tansy?

How long to sprout?

this is my first time, I sowed May 4, and not a sign.

I hope they are going to come up as I want to use them for companion planting with some vegetables.

thanks,

ellen

Comments (14)

• organic_greenjeans
    11 years ago

Oh my goodness, this is an invasive noxious weed not only in our entire area, but a goodly sized patch has taken hold in my (deceased) aunt's untended garden that I've inherited! I've been doing battle with this demon weed for 2 yrs. now & have barely made a dent; it just keeps coming. So if you really want it, just wait a bit & unless your seed is bad, I'm afraid you'll have it soon enough!

Good luck! Jean

• ellenrr
    Original Author
    11 years ago

thanks!
    I didn't know it was invasive. I've got enough invasive species in my garden. I'll pass on this one.

• terrene
    11 years ago

Do you mean Tanacetum vulgare? The tansy with the yellow flowers? Yes that one can get invasive, although I grew it from seed about 25 years ago at my previous house where I had a large veggie and herb garden, and it never got out of control.

I'm growing 2 species of Tanacetum I got from a trade, Tanacetum parthenemum (feverfew) and Tanacetum niveum (don't know common name. These have white flowers and are not supposed to be invasive.

• organic_greenjeans
    11 years ago

Terrene, you've been most fortunate not to experience the invasiveness of Tanacetum vulgare, and you may possibly be that fortunate yet again with your T. parthenemum (also known as Chrysanthemum parthenemum) and T. niveum!

Tanacetum niveum is commonly called white or silver tansy or snow daisy & looks much like a cushion mum, with single white daisy-type flowers & yellow centers. Two of the most common cultivars are 'White Bouquet' & 'Jackpot'. As with all tansies, they self-sow freely & are considered aggressively invasive.

Ellen, forewarned is forearmed!