Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
msirie

What's in your hole?

msirie
12 years ago

***Semi Newbie Alert***

I am still fairly new to wintersowing. This year, I had a much better year than last year. I actually had some spouts (jumping for joy) and blooms already. I guess I should post pictures... but that's for another post.

Anyway, I am curious to know What other people are including in their holes for such beautiful blooms. Here in Georgia, we have clay for soil, so last year, I tried lasagne garden, which turned out to be a total mess. I had to remove most of the grass because the water couldn't get through to the roots of the plants and everything (what little plants there were) were dying.

So has to avoid another disaster I've decided to ask some of you seasoned gardener. Right now, I include top soil and some aged grass in each hole.

Please let me know what you include in your planting holes and the function of it. For example, I include grass because I know it will decompose and soft the shovel breaking clay we have here in Georgia.

Thanks in advance!

Comments (14)

• bakemom_gw
    12 years ago

Chopped leaves and grass is gold in the fall. I just spread it on the beds and it melts in. It's free - what is there not to like?

• morz8 - Washington Coast
    12 years ago

Msirie, my soil has a clay base too, I've added a huge amount of compost to my beds over the years and they are much better - its been an ongoing chore. Like bakemom, I top dress with compost still, adding a layer in Spring and more in Fall where needed and I don't have the same drainage issues during our winter wet as I used to.

Amending just the planting holes though isn't usually recommended, it's better if you can add the amendments through the bed or area....

Here is a link that might be useful: amending planting holes

• kqcrna
    12 years ago