Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mauru

when to transplant seedlings

Mauru
10 years ago

This is my first time winter sowing. I start sowing perennials on April to be exact. Now I have coneflower seedlings, dianthus seedlings and one pampas grass sprout. Still no balloon flower or daisy ox-eye sprouts.

However, I also did some sowing in pots outside. I sow zinnia seeds and sunflower seeds. The zinnia began sprouting but they are too close to each other. They still have their baby leaves, is now a good time to separate them? Should I wait until they are bigger? I want the most plants possible so I don't want a seedling to take over another weaker seedling.

Any advice is welcomed.

Comments (6)

• jeanne
    10 years ago

Transplant them now, the sooner they get into their new homes the faster they can get growing again.

• agkistrodon
    10 years ago

Hello. This is also my first time w/s'ing...so no expert here...but I've put out 3 jugs of columbine sprouts...about half had secondary leaves on the them, half just their primaries. I left them in clumps as I think it does less damage to delicate roots(?) I live in a wooded area and I've noticed many species growing almost on top of each other. Jack in pulpits transported by animals often end up in clumps as do others...unless you have a design that calls for one plant here and one plant there...I think separation is not necessary for plants. Maybe trees, shrubs need more space but flowers can wait to be separated until they get a bit bigger and stronger.

• ellenrr
    10 years ago

The conventional wisdom that you should pull out the weaker ones, so those left will be stronger -
    I've never done this bec I don't have the heart- but as Adidas says, I never saw any damage by leaving them in clumps.
    Depends on the look you want.