Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bookjunky4life

Staking flowers

bookjunky4life
11 years ago

I have some hollyhocks that are 6 feet tall and bushy as can be, that I WS'd last year. Part of them blew over in storm Sunday so I staked them up to a t-post last night and noticed I have rust.

I also staked up my shasta daisies because they were all over the place. That seems to have been a mistake as now they look terrible. Is there any way to stake them that has a better appearance?

Comments (9)

• pixie_lou
    11 years ago

I use peonie rings on my Shasta daisies.

The ground hog always eats my hollyhocks so I have never needed to stake them.

• northforker
    11 years ago

I hate to stake and I'm not good at it either. The poor flowers always look like I've imprisoned them with awkwardly places stakes and too much string/wire. Mostly I just plant everything so close togther that they tend to hold each other up.

• kqcrna
    11 years ago

Peony rings or some other grow-through cage will give you the most natural shape and appearance.

Karen

• flora_uk
    11 years ago

If you use twiggy prunings early in the year many perennials will grow up through them and they will be invisible by summer. The trick is to get the supports in before they are needed.

Here is a link that might be useful: Supporting perennials

• northerner_on
    11 years ago

I took out my first planting of Shasta Daisies (Alaska) because of the staking required. Since then I have searched for and found two other shorter varieties which do not need staking (White Knight:expensive and difficult to grow, and Snowlady). I put some in last year and will put more in this year. I think the suggestion of peony rings would be perfect. I have used the smaller version of the peony rings (from the dollar store) for my maltese cross and they work quite well. My hollyhocks are against my fence and if necessary, I tie them to the fence posts.