Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
countrycarolyn

How to reduce chaff??

countrycarolyn
14 years ago

I posted this question on the seed saving forum and no responses, I think that forum doesnt have much traffic so here goes.

What steps do you take to reduce chaff in your seeds??

I have been using a technique that was just brought on by common sense usually about a week process. I would like to hear from others though how they reduce chaff. I know there has to be an easier way that I am just totally missing. Thanks for any suggestions!! Carolyn

Comments (19)

• lblack61
    14 years ago

Carolyn,
    I'm not a pro at it, but I'm sure others who have more experience here will chime in.
    But in my limited experience of separating chaff from some seeds, I use a metal sifter and I sift out the seeds onto a sheet of wax paper, then discard what chaff from the sifter and sift again until there's more sees than chaff.
    But I dislike doing that so much (makes me sneeze a lot), that I usually just keep the seed heads together until time to sow.
    (Like I said, I don't have much experience with seed-saving the chaff-heavy items)

Linda

• paulan70
    14 years ago

One of the things I do is I use a paur of plastic twizzers and just carefully pick out the seeds or chaff whichever is easiest to grab with the twizzers. It is also time consuming and with alot of flowers that is alot of time that could be spent other where. But if it is something that really bothers you then do it. Me I prefer the less chaff as possible so I pick out the un needed stuff.

Paula

• token28001
    14 years ago