Return to the Winter Sowing Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Is this legal

Posted by jspeachyn5 6 SW MO. (My Page) on
Mon, Jun 29, 09 at 15:34

Ok, I received this in a seed packed this last fall to ws. I am a newbie to this. Please hold a laughing until the end.
Is this a flower or is this something illegal??
Here are some picture as you can see it is growing quite well or at least I thought is was. But now I'm beginning to wonder.
What is this? Help
Bottom of plant
What is this?
Back side
Help what is this?
Ok, so tell me is this just me being old or is this something I should yank from my flowerbed?
Now you can laugh.
Bonnie : )

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Is this legal

I'm almost sure it is cleome, aka spider flower. Let others weigh in, those who are familiar with the exact looks of the one you are worried about! If it is cleome, you can expect flowers in a few weeks. Enjoy, either way!

o

Thank goodness.
I have been a nervous wreck every since I posted this.
I looked up cleome an I sure hope that is it. I do remember planting some of that just forgot to mark it.
This is all the reason I need to always remember to mark all new to me plants.
Thanks'.

o

Well if its not cleome, just plant some cleome next to it lol maybe you can get away with it lol (bad joke)

o

If you planted cleome, that is probably what it is. There are several other plants with similar leaf patterns. The first year I planted cleome, my teenage daughter looked at it and said, "Mom? are you sure you meant to plant this in the front yard?"

Becky

o

Bonnie,

If in doubt, take a few leaves, dry them out, roll them up like a cigarette, and sneak behind the house to smoke it. Come back and let us know how it goes, OK?? If it makes you sick, it's no good, but if it makes you happy then can you send me some seeds?

o

LOL, tiff.... :0) LOL

Carrie

o