Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vera_eastern_wa

Hi Friends!!

vera_eastern_wa
11 years ago

Just to let you all know, I am still around, but very limited internet access!

Some of you may already know that we have moved to central ID and are located in the Clearwater Mountains (Elk City). I am still learning as much as I can about what is and what isn't possible to grow at this high altitude, and from what I have gathered so far, I most likely will not get to have much of what I had back in Eastern WA...however, I believe the growing zone is higher than what some of the locals are telling me. I'm guessing we are zone 5 or at least 4B. We got here in mid November, and it never got much colder than -13 once or twice and were normally never much below -5. The first frost date in the fall is usually around Sept. 15th (comparable to where I was), but the last frost date isn't until around mid June!! I didn't even try to bother winter sowing Tomatoes....they all got started indoors, as did peppers, and as of last week, Cucumber.

So far this spring weather had been up and down. For a few days it will be near 80 and the next barely hitting 50 and rain rain rain!

We also have to learn to deal with elk and deer. Just about every morning, but mostly evenings, it isn't nothing to have a heard of elk (or plenty deer) out in the meadow. We often sit out in the swing and take it all in. Last night I had a 1 year old Bambi (still with spots) mowing the lawn about 5' from the back deck and too dang close to one of the new beds I'm working on....EEK! This is sooooooo new to me and gardening ((sigh)).

Does any know if that Liquid Fence or Deer Scram is worth spending the money on? Am I doomed to put up fencing? I really hope not.

Well I did spring sow a bunch of seed in April and May and here is the list and what has come up so far:

Sunflower 'Moulin Rouge' (germinated)

Calendula 'Citrus Cocktail' (germinated)

Calendula, standard (germinated)

Snapdragon (germinated)