Return to the Winter Sowing Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Hunk of seedlings--what if they all live??

Posted by lovesblooms z7 MD (My Page) on
Fri, Jun 6, 14 at 20:43

This is my first year wintersowing. I planted hundreds of hunks of seedlings and just about all my hunks are still hunks, growing together in gradually taller clumps. Do you hand-thin or just let them grow out...?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Hunk of seedlings--what if they all live??

Leave them be. They will be fine and "take care of themselves."

The strongest will survive, the others will "bite the dust". and sometimes they all survive and make a beautiful clump of perennial plants, larger than if they where individually planted and will be a real winner next year when they bloom.

Annual clumps look fuller and better planted close together.

From more than 10 years experience and remember my first year of HOS planting and thinking the same thing.

Fran

o

That was so soothing to hear, Fran, thank you. Even less to worry about with these nearly worry-free plants!

o

Planting 'hunks' is what makes WS so enjoyable. They will usually just fight it out until the strongest survive. Then, you have a garden of real soldiers!

o

Nope, no thinning here either. I let them fight it out and let the toughest survive, like so: photo CG3A3941.jpg
 photo CG3A3978.jpg

o

Gorgeous, Pit, and very reassurring! Things are growing like weeds here now (including weeds) with all the rain here over the past week.

What about tomatoes...?

o

I give away excess tomatoes though, and leave only one to grow. I do plant them very close. lol. I am greedy.

o Post a Follow-Up

Please Note: Only registered members are able to post messages to this forum.

If you are a member, please log in.

If you aren't yet a member, join now!

Return to the Winter Sowing Forum

Information about Posting