Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
diggerdee

cilantro question

I'm growing cilantro for the first time this year, and I'm not quite sure what I'm doing, lol!

I haven't even transplanted it out of its milk jug yet, and it seems to be already setting buds. Do I want it to do this? I know the seeds are coriander, correct? But if I let it go to seed, or even just flower, how does that affect the flavor of the leaves? Should I be pinching?

Thanks for any light you can shed on this for me!

:)

Dee

Comments (15)

• mo_girl
    16 years ago

This is my first year growing cilantro from seed. However, my first cilantro plant began flowering weeks ago and the leaves produced since then have been puny and it's getting leggy, so I assume it's bolting. I've used the leaves since then and they tasted fine, but it won't be long before there are not any left. I don't know if pinching off the flowers helps or not. Someone else might have an answer. I tried pinching for a while, but had a hard time keeping up with all the flowering, so I decided to just wait and harvest the seeds.

I have a few other seedlings I started a couple weeks back to replace this one. They shoot up really quickly in the heat, so it won't take long to start some more if you choose.

• strouper2
    16 years ago

Cilantro is one of my favorite herbs so I've tried to grow it several times and I've always run into the same problem with it going to seed so fast. The stuff you get in the stores always seems so nice but anytime I grow it 90% of the plant is not usable. Last year I tried it again but this time I put it in the ground and decided I would put a lot of effort into keeping it from going to seed & what did I get the same old thing. So if anyone has a solution I'd love to hear it.

Stroup

• donn_
    16 years ago

The key to growing Cilantro is to keep the roots cool. When they hit 75°F, the plant bolts, and the leaves become bitter.