Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
astroknot_gw

What are you all planting now for Fall/Winter crops?

Astroknot
11 years ago

This is my first time even considering growing seasonal fall crops. I was wondering what you guys are planting now, and what you recommend.

I'm a container gardener so it's got to be small. However, I do have 2 really large half wine barrels that I'm saving for the larger plants. I'm thinking of using one for pumpkin, probably Sugar Pie. I've got really heavy duty trellises for the vines.

I have plans to plant carrots, beets, and broccoli but I was going to wait a little later in the summer.

Mainly, I'm just wondering what you guys like to sow during Summertime for an end-of-the-year harvest.

Thanks!

Comments (4)

• leila hamaya
    11 years ago

i am starting lots of stuff now, this is a good time to plant in this climate. actually we are lucky that way, i plant all kinds of things all year round.we can plant some things that wouldnt work elsewhere....and some of it will just grow slowly all winter...then take off earlier in the spring. i try to only plant a little bit of each plants seed at a time, then do plantings of the same things every few weeks to space out the harvest a bit.

some of what i am starting- arugula, broccoli, greens, spinach, herbs, peas and carrots-once i get some mulch together. thinking to heavily mulch then plant the carrots in there to help with the weird germination i generally get with carrots. its occured to me thats why and it will work better- a nice thick straw mulch and then broadcast the carrots seed into there. we will see how it works.

course gotta go get some straw, or find/gather some good mulch. but wanting a nice freshy heap of straw particularly for the carrot seed.

in a little while i will harvest the garlic, onions, and potatoes, replanting some of what i harvest as i go. but that will be for growing all winter and into next year.