Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pitimpinai

Tips: When to cut down dahlia

pitimpinai
14 years ago

Trees around my house are turning colors already.

In the past, people always asked when to cut down their dahlia.

I planted and gave away over 200 dahlia tubers. I plan to dig up mine after frost.

Here's a link to answer that question:

Here is a link that might be useful: When to dig up dahlia tubers.

Comments (8)

• austinnhanasmom
    14 years ago

THANKS!!

Was wondering about this as I am a newbie...

• evonnestoryteller
    14 years ago

I read recently to keep dahlia tubers stored at around 50 degrees. I did not realize I needed a place that cool. Do you store your's in such a cook place?

• drippy
    14 years ago

I had to dig mine up way early this year because of moving - hope they make it

• vera_eastern_wa
    14 years ago

Thanks,

I was wondering about this myself a few days ago. I guess I'll wait until late Oct-early Nov. to dig them up. My 'Bishop's Grandchildren' (Karen's) just now started blooming yesterday on 8-10" plants! The earwigs found them to be quite tasty most of this season, but they didn't care too much for the 'Early Bird' which have done well all year...go figure!?
    We normally have our first frost around Sept. 15th, but hasn't happened yet this year so far. We came close though, dropping down to about 35F! It was 93F here today and lows have been back into the 50's at night since the scare. Looks like by next Tue. though the daytime high goes down to 65F with lows in the 40's.

• ivyp
    14 years ago

I never dig mine up. maybe I should neve thought about it thanks.

• pitimpinai
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Ivy, For us folks who live in an area where the ground freezes in winter, we need to dig up dahlia to store indoors.
    You probably have no need to do do. However, maybe your dahlia can benefit for a division now and then to decrease over crowding and increase your stock.