Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
evonnestoryteller

So what did you get!

evonnestoryteller
14 years ago

I find myself wondering a lot if I should save seed, if there is any opportunity to get something to come at least looking a little true to seed, and if my chances are 1 in 100 or a million. :)

I thought it might be nice to gather your seed saving experices and posting the results on what you got from hybred saved seeds.

Right now I was looking at ecinacea. They offer a lot of seeds from open pollinated seeds with a variety of hybred names, especially on eBay. Do you think they would all come out the usual color anyway? I do see seed mixes for ecinacea from seed companies. I also wonder what the chances are of getting the coloration mix in their great photos!!!

Comments (7)

• Chemocurl zn5b/6a Indiana
    14 years ago

I have very little experience with growing things from saved hybrid seed. I did have a pink butterfly bush reseed though and all of the resulting babies are a dark lavender (or light purple).

I have had probably hybrid tomatoes reseed in the garden, and the resulting tomatoes were tasteless.

My Rose of Sharon's reseed themselves everywhere, and either cross or revert. I ended up with a pure white, when there was no other pure white one on the property or nearby here in the rural. I also had one that had sort of candycane blooms one season, and then different blooms yet the following season. Some of the many Blue Bird seedlings did produce Blue ROS, but it would be hard to say if it was 1in 5 or 1 in 20, or 1 in 100, as I have so many in so many places. I guess they could have even been a seedling from a different color than Blue Bird too.

I would be very tempted to save hybrid seed. The babies may be nearly like the mother, or something cool anyway, but then again, they may be butt ugly.

Sue

• evonnestoryteller
    Original Author
    14 years ago