Return to the Winter Sowing Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Order from T's arrived any sowed Viburnum?

Posted by ladyrose65 6bNJ (My Page) on
Fri, Sep 13, 13 at 14:31

I got my order from T's Flowers and Things today, really excited about the Viburnum. Has anyone had any success with this shrub? Do I sow now or wait until its cold? I know some plants need a long stratification period.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Order from T's arrived any sowed Viburnum?

According to my book, Native Plants of the Northeast, by Donald Leopold, most native viburnums need a period of warm stratification followed by a period of cold stratification. I don't know about any non-native viburnums. I am a complete newbie at winter sewing, so I can't tell you a thing from personal experience, just what it says in the book. HTH,

Liz

o

• Posted by morz8 Z8 Wa coast (My Page) on
    Fri, Sep 13, 13 at 18:32

Ladyrose, not all viburnum have the same requirements and several need (somewhat extended) warm moist period before a chill...which did you order?

Here is a link that might be useful: Clothiers, viburnum

o

Viburnum carlesii (Snowball Bush).

o

Sat, Sep 14, 13 at 1:45

Well, wouldn't you know, that one isn't included on the Clothiers database.

Ontario Rock Garden and Hardy Plants database and they are reliable too. They suggest:

Expose to fluctuating outdoor winter temperatures including some freezing for 3 months. Gradually increase light (which you will do by barely covering or surface sowing in your jugs) and temperature in spring. No mention of sowing in Fall while temps are still warm.

Also, did you receive cleaned seeds or is the pulp dried on them?

Pulpy coat inhibits germination (this is true of most fruits and berries). Remove by soaking and rinsing in clean water daily for 7 days. Discard water. (if you have pulp I wouldn't leave it on even for winter sowing)