Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
river_crossroads

Recap of ws butterfly gardening summer 2011?

Hi all, I am new to butterfly/hummingbird gardening and I would very much appreciate a recap of your success this summer.

What were your grand prize winners as voted on by your butterflies and hummingbirds and what type of butterfly did the voting? (If you happen to know.) Both butterfly host and nectar if that applies. Did you ws, direct sow, grow from cutting, grow as perennial, buy the plant, etc, or did it self-sow? Any tips and tricks that you could share?

BTW, I know that many people reported fewer than usual butterflies during a record hot, dry summer in much of the USA. Thanks so much! River

Comments (25)

• docmom_gw
    12 years ago

I was fortunate to have record numbers of Monarch cats this year. They arrived later than in past years, but then outdid themselves laying eggs. This was my third year with my butterfly garden in this location, so I think many of the Monarchs were able to find there way back to their recent ancestors' birth place. I don't know how close to the actual spot they actually find, but I wouldn't be surprised at anything they might do. I have Red MIlkweed, Swamp Milkweed, and orange Butterflyweed as well as multiple annual and perennial nectar sources. I also had two nice crops of BST. One early and one late. I think I have 9 chrysalises that I expect to overwinter, though one did eclose last week. Weather-wise we had a cold,wet spring, but a very nice summer with a perfect amount of sun and rain. I look forward to hearing how others' season turned out.

Martha

• moonwolf_gw
    12 years ago

Hi River,

The plants that REALLY drew in the butterflies were these:

Butterfly Bush
    Tropical Milkweed (the Monarch cats just pigged out on it!)
    Ironweed
    Tithonia/Mexican Sunflowers
    Lantana (the Swallowtails just LOVED this!)