Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
clc70_gw

winter sowing fuchsia?

clc70
12 years ago

I collected some seed down in Oregon this past summer. (Huge plants growing in hedges). I would like to try to sprout them. Any suggestions? Connie.

Comments (6)

• flora_uk
    12 years ago

Let me say firstly that I have never grown Fuchsias from seed, only from cuttings. However, given the kind of climate they come from I would not have thought that they needed a cold period and therefore are not really great candidates for winter sowing. Here are some instructions from the web.

Here is a link that might be useful: Fuchsias from seed

• morz8 - Washington Coast
    12 years ago

No photo of the plants, or idea which they may be?

I'm far from a fuchsia expert, but the only type I know that will winter sow and self sow in our climate are the f. magellanicas. I grow Hawkshead and f. magellanica var mollinae, both will self sow - and will germinate while being held many, many weeks moist at about 40F. Not likely what you saw, I don't think their growth habit would lend itself to hedge - too tall, not dense enough.

My neighbor grows one I could imagine as a deciduous hedge of about 4' but I don't know what it is and neither does she, it was there when she bought the house 30+ years ago. Its in a wide unmulched bed that should welcome self sowing, but I've never seen a seedling there - the plant doesn't suffer winter damage like my own did last winter but doesn't appear to 'winter sow' itself in our climate.

• flora_uk
    12 years ago

morz8, hedges of Fuchsia magellanica are very common in coastal areas of the SW UK and Ireland. They have a fairly informal look, not tight clipped.

Here is a link that might be useful: Fuchsia hedge

• morz8 - Washington Coast
    12 years ago

Oh my goodness, I wouldn't have guessed. My own are more specimen type shrubs, lanky/sparse at the bottoms. An entire hedge would be hummingbird heaven :)