Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tomerrol

hybiscus seed

tomerrol
12 years ago

I have collected some seed from my red hybiscus plant. I have searched hybiscus from seed and it says I would need to nick the outer layer.

Has anyone ws hybiscus seed and do you really need to nick the seed and if so just how did you do it? I have tweezers and I have dremels that would might make the job easier. If anyone has done this, is there a better way?

thanks

Tom

Comments (12)

• tomva
    12 years ago

no need to nick,they do fine wintersowed.I've been working for 2 years now on a confederate rose hibiscus got it about 4 ft tall now but no blooms this year maybe next year.Some hibiscus's I have wintersowed have bloomed the first year from seed.I like to wintersow the rose of sharons also..

• gardenweed_z6a
    12 years ago

A great deal of seed-starting information that's out there is geared toward more conventional methods (i.e., growing under lights or in a greenhouse) and doesn't necessarily apply to winter sowing. Nicking or scarifying seeds is one of them. Both Hibiscus syriacus/rose of Sharon and Hibiscus moscheutos/hardy hibiscus are excellent WS candidates in my experience. My hardy hibiscus plants came up healthy again this year (their second) but haven't bloomed yet. They're borderline hardy in my zone but since there are large clumps of them growing north of where I am, I'm guessing the hardiness zone information is about as accurate as the germination recommendations.

I also successfully grew Cornus florida and Cornus kousa--native dogwood and Japanese/ornamental dogwood trees--from seed via winter sowing. Germination from both was 100% and they've grown to 3 ft. in height their second year. Guess I should take a couple of photos now they're getting some size to them. I'm growing them in containers while I decide where to plant them.

• tomerrol
    Original Author
    12 years ago