Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
little_minnie

sowing vegetables before freeze?

little_minnie
12 years ago

I have done a little winter sowing but I am an experienced and professional gardener otherwise. Would these ideas work?

I am planting garlic next week and I would like to seed some Walla Walla onions nearby. I was hoping it would start up quickly in spring. Does that work and what about straw mulch that would be on the garlic? Should I mulch and then remove the straw in very early spring from the onions?

Also plan on throwing down some spinach and lettuce seeds and making a straw bale and old window coldframe. I was hoping it would also get the seed off to a really early start. Would this work? I was thinking of leaving the window tilted off to let the snow cover the area and then putting the window on in late winter to heat it up.

Comments (7)

• jeanne
    12 years ago

If you would put your location or zone in your personal info you would get better info, but here's what I'd say if you were in my location...

I would try the Walla Walla seed, winter stratification can really help out onion seed, especially if it isn't fresh seed.

As for the lettuce, I'm already harvesting my fall crop which was sown July 26. I would save the lettuce seed and sow again in March, if sown now it would be subject to runoff or being eaten over the winter.

I tried a bale straw coldframe with window one year to start a bunch of rose cuttings. I did not see an appreciable difference in the rate of rooting between the cuttings in the bale coldframe and those planted in the garden. OTOH it was nice to be able to brush the snow away and see the cuttings when nothing else was green.