Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
smokey28777

Steps to winter sowing??

smokey28777
9 years ago

Ive read almost all the posts on this forum so I would understand how to winter sow. Is the the right way? Have I missed any steps? Need ideas how to stabilize milk jugs..

In January, (zone 7)

Poke holes in bottom of milk jugs
cut jugs almost all the way around , fold back, add soil, sow seeds, then tape around with duct tape, leaving lid off

Set outside and stabilize so jugs don't turn over

Leave until spring then you should have seedlings to plant

Im new at this and am planning to winter sow about 50 milk jugs. Thanks for all your help!!

Comments (5)

• dbarron
    9 years ago

Well, I don't know if this is proper, but I sow seeds through neck of jug and don't cut jug leaving a terrarium sort of.

• mnwsgal
    9 years ago

Unless you have very windy conditions or are setting the jugs on very uneven ground they do not need anything done to stabilize.

Edited to add:

One step I see missing is labeling. I add a v.blind label inside the jug as well as write the name on the outside of the jug at the top so I know what is in each. Some write the name on the bottom of the jug. Be sure to use a paint pen or other permanent marker. Some marker's ink fades in the sunlight.

This post was edited by mnwsgal on Mon, Nov 10, 14 at 12:43

• morz8 - Washington Coast
    9 years ago

" fold back, add soil, sow seeds, then tape"

Step missing from what you typed - In preparing your pots, add the potting soil then water it well to settle it, let it drain.

dbarron, how do you remove seedlings through the neck of a jug? Do you cut it apart when you are ready to plant?

• molanic
    9 years ago