Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
babcia_gw

Help in Preparing Containers

babcia
15 years ago

To start, let me say that I'm still new to this phenomenon (Winter Sowing), but I was wondering if anyone had any clever ways to cut milk containers. I've tried the little doors, and that's OK until I try to remove the seedlings, then I have to cut the whole thing apart to get them out.

I tired cutting the top off and inserting it in the bottom, but too much rainwater gets into the container.

Any help would be appreciated.

Comments (11)

• kqcrna
    15 years ago

I use a hinge. Cut around 3 sides just below the handle, but not thruough the label side. If you extend the cut just around the corners, it will flip open more easily. To close, I use one or two vertical strips of duct tape.
    {{gwi:194665}}

Karen

• diggerdee zone 6 CT
    15 years ago

I do exactly as Karen does, except I wrap my tape around the cut horizontally.

I tried another method of closing the jugs once, using a hole punch, as recommended by a fellow poster here. You punch a hole in the bottom part of the jug, near the cut edge, and in the top part of the jug, again, near the cut edge. Then you slip a twist-tie through the two holes and secure it. It was easier than tape, but I found it didn't hold together as sturdily as the tape. So I went back to the tape.

I have to be honest and admit to being a bit befuddled when folks say they have a problem with the method that Karen and I use. I can't see how messing with doors and flaps is any easier than simply wrapping a piece of tape around the jug. But I guess to each her own. I'm sure you will find a method that works for you.

Good luck, and have fun this year!
    :)
    Dee

• bakemom_gw
    15 years ago

I cut it leaving a hinge near the handle. I just slap on a piece of tape vertically to hold the darn thing down- whatever. I take the sloppy, but still effective method.

• patrushka
    15 years ago