Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tomerrol

spreadsheet

tomerrol
12 years ago

Ok since I am new to just about everything on ws, what information do most of you put on a spreadsheet? does a spreadsheet have to be on the computer, or could one be made with paper and pencil? This would be for keeping track of seeds that are WS .

thanks

Tom

Comments (13)

• mnwsgal
    12 years ago

I do both, computer and paper notebook. The last couple of years I add the info to the computer as it is easy to upload and to check when I need info. After a couple of years the info in the notebook can fade and sometimes (like today) I misplace the notebook :(

Container type &/or container number 2Ls are not numbered as it is easy to read the label inside. Individual cups or small pots are labeled "flat", not numbered. I number milk jugs as reuse them.
    Seed variety sown
    Date sown & # of seeds sown I added # as it helps to realize that some are weed seeds which have blown in or were in mix or there are more to germinate; sometimes the # is "many" or "pinch"
    Date germinated & # germinated, late in the spring this may be just a check as so many containers are germinating at the same time
    Note: if seeds were planted out or number potted up, and/or location of plants

• tomerrol
    Original Author
    12 years ago

thank you mnwsgal for the help. I kind of had an idea, but you gave me the information I needed.
    thank you again, and happy Ws
    Tom

• gardenweed_z6a
    12 years ago

Tom - I emailed you about a spreadsheet. Let me know if you want me to send a copy of the one I created.

• terrene
    12 years ago

I created an Excel spreadsheet called the "Sow Chart" and keep records each year of seeds that are winter-sown and direct-sown, and also the results of germination tests.