Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
topie_gw

plastic milk jugs vs. cardboard milk cartons ?

topie
14 years ago

Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie getting ready to try winter sowing for the first time. Just was wondering if you all prefer the plastic milk jugs to using cardboard milk cartons?

We usually buy our milk in the cardboard cartons, so we have tons of those, but not a lot of plastic jugs lying around. I was wondering if the clear plastic milk jugs are better because sunlight comes in from the sides of the jug, and not just the top of the container like in a cardboard milk carton?

Very excited to start winter sowing!

Thanks.

Comments (6)

• pitimpinai
    14 years ago

I use cardboard milk/juice cartons to grow dahlia tubers or other plants before transplanting them in the garden.
    I have never used them for WS, but I don't see why not, since people have used gallon pots and other opaque containers for WS. They use clear plastic to cover the container rims.

I also WS in newspaper pots. They are as opaque as milk cartons. Give it a try. I am for recycling as you are. :-D

• northerner_on
    14 years ago

I use 2-litre bottles myself, and have used milk cartons sometimes but the disadvantage is the ease of covering them. Depending on the weather, you may want to open your containers during the day, and re-close them at night. It's just easier if you have an easily re-closable container. I used the milk cartons for annuals which I usually plant in early spring and don't have much of a need for opening and re-closing. The opaqueness of the sides of the containers doesn't present a problem.

• mmqchdygg
    14 years ago