Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
smokey28777

Soil for winter sowing

smokey28777
9 years ago

Since this is my first time attempting winter sowing I want to get it right. I have a large selection of perennial seeds and now I need to purchase soil. Is regular potting soil, such as miracle grow potting soil acceptable? One member mentioned a growing mixture and I don't know what that is. Need advise as to what kind of soil to buy. Thanks for your help.

Comments (17)

• ishareflowers {Lisa}
    9 years ago

Hi,

I use pro mix but lots of people can't find it in their area. I get mine at a local farm/grain store.

when you go to buy it, buy a potting MIX not a soil. They will all be in the same area at the store just one will say potting mix! "don't buy Hyponex brand, it's awful>. I know that Walmart has a few brands of mix as well as HD and lowes.

Happy growing
    Lisa

• missymoo23_(z9a_Tx)
    9 years ago

Is potting mix the same thing as Peat Moss + Compost? Is that ok to use? (I've been using 50/50 Peat Moss and Composted Manure)

• nugrdnnut
    9 years ago

I recommend not using compost... I added some to my potting mix last year and had all sorts of stuff coming up that I couldn't distinguish from unfamiliar flowers seeds that I sowed.

And did I say, don't add compost to the potting mix... lol.

• molanic
    9 years ago

That was probably me causing the confusion. I just want to make sure any newbies use the right stuff. This method of wintersowing is very simple and gives great results, but there have been people with failures. Usually this is from using the wrong type of mix to sow in, forgetting drainage holes or ventilation, or putting containers inside a larger greenhouse that caused too early sprouting, overheating, or drying out.