Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardenweed_z6a

For new folks who aren't sure this works

gardenweed_z6a
13 years ago

I was a newbie last year but I was certain this would work after reading all the old posts. Still, there's no way to describe how excited I was when I saw these:

Penstemon 'Mystica' (seeds received in trade)

{{gwi:453514}}

Rudbeckia 'Irish Eyes'

{{gwi:453515}}

Buddleia/butterfly bush (bloomed 1st year from seed)

{{gwi:453516}}

Adenophora/ladybells

{{gwi:453517}}

Astilbe (seeds harvested from my own plants)

{{gwi:453518}}

Geum 'Blazing Sunset'

{{gwi:453519}}

Double pink hollyhock (bloomed three times its first year)

{{gwi:453520}}

Trollius ledebouri/Chinese globeflower (seeds harvested from my own plants)

{{gwi:453521}}

Lupine

{{gwi:453522}}

Sow your seeds on the solstice. Trust this method. You will not believe your eyes once the green wave rolls in.

Comments (35)

• pippi21
    13 years ago

Would you please come to Md. and do my plant markers? Just joking butYour handwriting/printing is so beautiful! I know I've complimented you on this before but it is rare that one sees good penmanship anymore. Are those mini-blind markers or plastic knives?

• gardenunusual
    13 years ago

I just sowed a bunch yesterday, they are sitting in the fridge till Tuesday. I hope that's okay?

• gardenweed_z6a
    Original Author
    13 years ago

gardenunusual - why are they sitting in the 'fridge? That's the "winter" part of winter sowing. Put them outside in the cold, they'll be fine. I sowed the trollius in the photo above on December 13 last year and set them out but when I learned about milk jugs, I transferred them from the deli salad bar container to a milk jug so they'd have more room for both top growth & roots.

pippi21 - I don't use plastic knives or mini-blinds. I get the labels 1,000 at a time from DP Industries in Maine.

• cab321
    13 years ago

How exciting! I can't wait to see my sprouts this spring.

• gardenweed_z6a