Return to the Winter Sowing Forum

o
2014 Zone Wars

Posted by DHofDocMom MI (My Page) on
Sat, Dec 21, 13 at 10:18

The 2014 Winter Zone Wars officially begins today!! My wife (docmom) has recruited me to keep track of the plantings this year. Each time you post to update your winter sowing progress, please make sure your Zone and current total no. of containers are in your post. This is my first time, so if I miss your information please alert me. The friendly competition goes until May 1, 2014.
Good luck and happy planting.
Dan

Here is a link that might be useful: Zone_Wars_2013-2014

This post was edited by DHofDocMom on Wed, Dec 25, 13 at 14:43

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: 2014 Zone Wars

Thanks for taking over Dan, and thanks to docmom for all the years of doing this. I can't believe I'm the first entry!
I put out the traditional 4 containers today for solstice.
My zone (New York City) varies on maps ... some say 6b some say 7a or b. Put em in either of those as you see fit.
Happy wintersowing everyone!

o

Four for me here in Zone 6. Grand total of four.

Brad AKA Moonwolf

o

I won't be starting my sowing for a few weeks yet, but wanted to say thank you Dan! We all appreciate you doing this for us!

:)
Dee

o

Thanks Dan for hosting!

I sowed 7 containers on Saturday for zone 5. I couldn't wait for the solstice and since it was already cold here in early December I've been sowing containers for a while now. It's my first year winter sowing so they didn't have any special meaning, just some edibles.

Happy Winter Sowing Everyone!

o

Thank you and so excited to winter sow for the first time! Planted 3 containers so far for Zone 6 :) will be planting more later today or the tomorrow!
~michael

o

heavenlyfarm, where in zone 6 are you? It may be too early to WS depending where you are. Just asking.

o

dirtguy50,