Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cogardener2675

location for WS containers... N,S,E or W?

cogardener2675
12 years ago

This is my first year WS and I'm very excited. I'm sowing only perennials for my very barren back yard. Last year I planted a few trees and bushes, but they are still rather small. The backyard faces west and gets hot summer sun. On this forum, I've not heard anyone talk about where to put the containers. My options are on my front porch (faces east and gets morning sun -- or the back yard, faces west, and gets full afternoon sun(no trees or protection). What do you recommend? Thanks -- (PS --I love reading and seeing all the pictures!

Comments (5)

• gardenweed_z6a
    12 years ago

East is good but not on the porch if it's covered. They need to be out where they can get snowed & rained on. West/full sun isn't good since the temp inside the containers can get very hot, very fast and fry your sprouts. My containers are on my east-facing breezeway where they get mostly shade until May-June. By then I'm starting to open the containers so the seedlings can soak up some sun.

{{gwi:199177}}

• cogardener2675
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks for your advise -- the porch isn't covered -- so that's where I'll put them. The porch will look like your breezeway (with all the mike containers) shortly!I have 30+ that I've saved plus 10 I got for .50 from a local deli that got them in by mistake.

• terrene
    12 years ago

Hi CO, my WS containers are on the east side of the house - which conveniently is the back side - and they get morning sun only. I think this is the best position for perennials - as they get a few hours of weaker sun, and aren't as likely to sprout too early or get overheated as they would with sun from a westerly direction.