Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dorothy4981

Show/Tell me how you protect containers from wind

dorothy4981
13 years ago

Sorry for the newbie questions. How do you protect your containers from wind? This is my first year WS. I am all organized with seeds, Farfard, log, Deco paint pen and am at ready for the AM. Plan to use vented underbed storage boxes - some with cups, some with lasagna pans and some to just plant in. But, but but.... have read the FAQ and so many old posts and I cannot find pictures or even procedures of how to protect all these containers from blowing away on windy Cape Cod, MA. Do you dig a ditch? Place rock weights on top? Thank you very much for your patience!

Comments (18)

• molanic
    13 years ago

The storage boxes that are short and wide should be pretty wind proof if kept on the ground. Your containers will be moist which adds quite a bit of weight as well. If the lids are very loose fitting I would definitely set a rock or brick on top as insurance.

Here near the windy city Chicago I have not had any problems yet. I just keep most of my containers on the ground, close together, and against a fence which helps. If using milk jugs you can also run a long stick, or stake through the handles which locks them together pretty well. I use the stick through the handles to help gradually ventilate my jugs in spring as well. I tie the stick to the fence and then move the base of the jugs forward and back which opens and closes the tops based on the weather. That helps because the springtime weather here easily shifts from the balmy mid 70s to a hard freeze in a day or two.

{{gwi:455706}}

{{gwi:455707}}

• gardenunusual
    13 years ago

Great question, wonderful info and pics.

Do these containers have to be in a sunny area? Or can the east side of the house be okay?