Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
arden_nj

Plant from the produce department?

arden_nj
20 years ago

What have you grown from stuff you've gotten at the grocery store? I read about the leeks and scallions giving up a second crop. I'm going to try them.

I've grown horseradish, and watercress and mint that I've bought at the grocery store. What else works?

Comments (151)

• papillonviolacea
    18 years ago

Nobody ever said how to sprout the pineapple tops. I'd really like to know. Are they a pretty plant; easy to grow? I am very new to gardening, so cheap and easy is what I'm looking for...

By the by... What zone is Boise? I looked it up and it said Zone 6, but the temps listed to qualify were way too low.

• alaskanamazon
    18 years ago

Yucca roots.. I had the same question- I bought one but it appears to have a waxy coating on it. Will this cause problems?

• alaskanamazon
    18 years ago

Ok, seems like people have lost interest in this thread...

But just in case, anyone tried growing a Kiwano Melon (Cucumis metuliferus) from the grocery store? I bought one and am going to try planting the seeds tomorrow.

• CrazyDaisy_68
    18 years ago

I did grow a melon from the grocery store once. Before I could harvest the fruit winter had started to settle in. We ended up moving and I didn't have space to try again for a number of years and never did try to grow it again even though I now have space to grow! It sure was quite a thrill that it sprouted though! I've still got some seeds that I keep in the fridge... wonder if they are still viable??
    Since that time I have collected many pepper seeds, some cucumber and various beans and peas. I plan to grow these this summer. I had been pretty unsure about the peppers though, but now reading this thread I am really excited to try this now!

I am going to put "sweet potato" on my shopping list too! Should be fun to try this with my kids!

I have done poppy seeds from the spice jar and they worked out great!