Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
red_sea_me

nut grass/nut sedge help?

red_sea_me
17 years ago

other than blowtorch or crawling on my hands and knees daily weeding these so and sos, is there an organic way to rid myself of this stuff? Nut and all? In a flower bed with shrubs.

help?

-Ethan

Comments (30)

• Organic_johnny
    17 years ago

Sadly, the blowtorch won't work either, unless you do it once a week. I've been fighting this stuff in many gardens for many years, and the only "one go" method I've found that works is just removing the soil down to a shovel's depth, and replacing the soil. You can reduce it's competitiveness against lawn grasses using aeration and a mineral soil conditioner, but you need to be careful about the "plugs" from the aerator, because you can end up spreading it even more.

Here is a link that might be useful: Cyperus esculentis

• red_sea_me
    Original Author
    17 years ago

thanks organic Johnny,

maybe I'll go with my other option, a concrete slab, painted green.

-Ethan

• Organic_johnny
    17 years ago

lol... sorry, I wish I could be more helpful :/. On the other hand, nutsedge feels better under bare feet than concrete, and if it *really* bothers you, getting the soil replaced by a contractor would much cheaper than making a concrete slab youself :).

Here is a link that might be useful: {{gwi:136941}}

• Dibbit
    17 years ago

And pulling it - unless you are REALLY careful, dig it thoroughly and check carefully for the nuts, and who is or does? - leaves the "nuts" behind to make more! It's one of the more aggravating weeds I know! Persistance helps a little - I have less of it in the beds I have been the most diligent about, but it's still there, after 4-6 years of weeding. Vinegar only gets the leaves, so it comes back. Along with redroot pig weed, curly dock and a few others, it's close to the top of my hate list. Wire grass is the top one, and the others change daily.

• gardenlen
    17 years ago

g'day ethan,