Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
stephanie_ann_86

Planting poppies in Michigan for late June bloom

Stephanie_Ann_86
9 years ago

Hi everyone! I'm new to this (both the site and gardening!) so any help is greatly appreciated. Here's my long-winded question:
So I live in Michigan (the Grand Rapids area) and am interested in planting poppies (Icelandic/Alpine/the hardier varieties) to use as centerpieces and decoration for my wedding next year on June 27th, 2015 :-) I obviously want as many blooms as I can at the end of June, and am wondering when to plant the seeds outside (fall, spring)? I would rather not start them inside for a few reasons, and I've also read poppies don't transplant the best. I'm just nervous with the extremely long and cold winter we had in Michigan this past year that it could kill the seeds over the winter if I plant them in the fall, or that if I plant them in the spring after the ground has thawed, there may not be enough time for them to bloom by June 27th? I would just really LOVE to use poppies I've grown for my wedding since it would not only be special, but less expensive as well.
Do you have any tips for other types of flowers that beautiful and resilient?
Any input is appreciated!
Thank you!
-Stephanie

Comments (10)

• SouthCountryGuy Zone 4b-5 SE BC
    9 years ago

There are lots of threads of people wanting to grow flowers for weddings. Most people will try and steer you well away from this. Weather and flowers are far too unpredictable to ensure you have blooms, especially that early in the year for zone 5.

If you still want to attempt this sow some seeds now, some a month before last frost and then every two weeks. Plant LOTS over a large area. A cold winter isn't going to kill the seeds.