Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
botanical_bill

Wooden grow boxes

botanical_bill
15 years ago

I have two three gallon junipers, both are growing upright. They have been in the plastic nursery pots and I either want to put them in the ground or in wooden grow boxes, favoring the boxes. How big should I make the boxes? I was going to go with 1x4 lumber (3/4"x3 1/2") and make the box 12" x 12" x 3 1/2. That appeared to be too small. I also have 1x6 lumber (3/4" x 5 1/2"). I could make them 16" x 16" x 5 1/2". Has any one ever used these or made them? What do you think? I do not want to put them in the ground cause Im doing lots of landscaping and am affraid that I will have to dig them up quite a bit to move them. Also, Im installing irrigation and I do not want to over water these guys. So thats why I favor the boxes over putting them in the ground.

Thanks for your input in advance.

Comments (19)

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    15 years ago

Hey, Bill!

I'm a real novice, so let that be a caveat!
    However, I think your growing boxes should be deeper. I'd go at least 8 inches deep, maybe deeper for something like a maple (14 x 14 x 14 inches?). If your goal is to keep the roots nice and shallow for eventual bonsai pots, you might consider growing over a tile in these grow-boxes. I've never tried this, though, so I can't say how well it would serve you.

I think Dax (Gardener365) posted something about a growing box not too long ago....for Japanese maples possibly.

Josh

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    15 years ago

Nevermind!
    It wasn't that deep after all!

Link attached.

Here is a link that might be useful: Dax's first

• botanical_bill
    Original Author
    15 years ago

I made one, 14" x 14" x 3 1/2 deep. This size seems to be perfect. I gave it a quick slopy coat of polyeurthane, just so it doesnt rot out after one use.