Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thecityman

My experience with Willis Orchard Company

I have seen many reviews of on-line nurseries here and I wanted to add one more. In March 2014 I placed on order for 7 trees and 2 berry plants with Willis Orchards. They arrived small and generally not looking too good (I should add that an error by fed ex resulted in the plants taking 5 days instead of 2 to get to me if that matters). I also should tell you that I made a last minute change to my order after Willis already assembled it and had it on the shipping dock and they were very cheerful and helpful in doing that even though it had to be an aggravation for them. Anyway, in spite of me getting all the trees and plants in the ground the very next day after arrival and following all instructions carefully, by this fall a total of 5 out of 7 trees died and both the berry plants died. I am an admitted beginner but I honestly feel that the high mortality rate was not my fault- I kept them watered (not drowned), got them planted quickly in good soil, etc. It might be tempting for you or I to conclude that Willis is not a good place to buy trees due to this high mortality rate. But please read on:
This fall I contacted Willis and told them about my dead trees and asked what all I had to do in order to redeem the 1-year guarantee. This is where I feel Willis earned a very positive review in spite of the death of so many trees. We will never know for certain why the trees died, so to me it is more about how they handled the deaths-and they did great in this regard.