Return to the House Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
What kind of soil should I use?

Posted by Portispearls OK (My Page) on
Wed, Sep 19, 12 at 17:45

So I am new to gardening and I would like to make sure all of my plants have the correct soil. I have had a few plants die recently and I realized that the soil may be the issue.

I purchased a seed starting soil from miracle grow for all of my plants. I figured that I could use the soil for the plants that were not starting from seeds as well. Now I am starting to think otherwise as of today. I think the plant's roots had been rotting.

Now, I have one plant that may be a Dieffenbachia. This is the plant that I pulled out of the soil today and decided the roots were rotting.

I have the following plants:
Aloe
Parlor Palm
Purple Velvet plant (three to a pot)
Pepperomia (Mini Watermelon)
Dracaena Janet Craig Compacta
What I think is a Chinese evergreen

I have the two Pepperomias and the Dracaena in the same pot

After looking through different websites it seems like they all need well-drained soil. I am thinking that I may be able to get the cactus, palm, and citrus mix for all of the plants above since the website say to use peat moss, sand and soil for the majority of the plants.

Is this possible or should I purchase a different mixes?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: What kind of soil should I use?

You can use it as is but as with most plants it's best to give it a good combo. I use peat moss and the Cati soil for my cacti and bromelaid

o

I wouldn't use seed starting mix..It's much to fine.

Instead, I'd mix Cactus & Succulent soil, bark, tiny pea gravel together. And a little Peat with the Peperomia, Chinese Evergreen and Dracaena.

Dieffenbachia rot if soil is kept too wet. Especially in a cool/cold room. Toni

o

• Posted by tapla z5b-6a mid-MI (My Page) on
    Wed, Sep 19, 12 at 19:24