Return to the Hypertufa Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
grave markers

Posted by cammiepaul sc (My Page) on
Mon, Jan 29, 07 at 14:04

Hello,

I am new to all of this and I am very interested in making some grave markers for my pets that have moved on. I have the plastic letters that you use when making stepping stones for my pets name. But I was wondering what recipe would be the best?, and could you use o mold out of the plastic baseboard molding, so that it would take the shape of a tombstone. Any info would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Cammiepaul

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: grave markers

What a great idea. I would guess a recipe using a little more cement and a little less rough ingredients would give you enough definition for the letters to show up well. I hope you post pictures of the finished grave markers. Will they be placed anywhere in your garden as memorials or over the actual places you buried your pets?
Jan

o

Hi, I'm new to making pet markers. I have 3 friends who want pet markers for their lost babies. I've been researching how to transfer the design to the tombstone. Please explain in detail about the plastic letters (what are they, where do i buy them?), and can you explain further about the plastic baseboard mold? Thank you.

o

I've not posted here but this thread caught my attention.
A friend of mine, and author of some dog books, came up with a wonderful idea for markers years ago. She calls them Pawstones. She just uses regular cement mold shapes tho you can use any shape you want. But she puts things in the cement before it hardens. Of course she letters the dog's name and the dates of birth and death, but then adds little momentos. I made some myself after she told me. I bought things from the miniature aisle of my craft store.
For example, one dog loved his ball and bread. So I found a little tiny plastic ball and a miniature loaf of Fr Bread.