Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
andreark

OGRs versus English types

andreark
10 years ago

Hey guys,

I have HTs (13), Miniatures (3), and English shrubs (5)

I know! Not a bunch but I'm working on it.

My question is, why do you grow OGRs instead of the English types? Aren't the newer ones more healthy?

Don't Yell at me, I'm just an ignorant novice.

andrea

Comments (29)

• dublinbay z6 (KS)
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Now don't yell at andrea, you OGR types. She doesn't know she just defiled sacred ground by suggesting a new, upstart Austin rose could possibly replace the honored old ones that speak of history and tradition. Don't worry, Andrea--I'll throw Galloping Gerty between you and the madly onrushing OGR growers. Gerty can stop anyone with those swordlike thorns!

I'm sure you will get more serious answers, andrea, but part of the answer, besides history and tradition, is that OGRs are MORE disease resistant in certain areas--such as the old South--than are Austins, and in California, Austins turn into monstrous-sized growths that offend the tanned sensibilities of those gardeners.

Personally, I like both. : )

Kate

• andreark
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks Kate.

Where can I find photos of 'honored old ones that speak of history and tradition'?

Never mind! Sorry, I just looked at advanced search on HMF. That should have the pretty 'pics' that I need.

Thanks again for not yelling at me,

andrea

• dublinbay z6 (KS)
    10 years ago

I'm no expert on OGRs, Andrea, but I do grow Mrs. John Laing (hybrid perpetual)
    {{gwi:310551}}

and Buff Beauty (hybrid musk, which I think qualifies)
    {{gwi:207537}}

and Mystic Beauty (Bourbon, I think it qualifies--it's nearly identical to Souvenir de la Malmaison, which definitely qualifies)
    {{gwi:236892}}

plus several polyanthas (The Fairy, Cecile Brunner shrub, and Mother's Day).

Not sure if Fru Dagmar (rugosa) is considered an OGR or not, but I also grow her.