Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mikerond

Wave Petunias Not doing so well

mikerond
10 years ago

First let me say I am a total newbie to this, and I want to thank everyone in advance for their responses to my post.
I went gung-ho this year and bought a heat mat a grow light, self watering seed trays, etc. Everything sprouted fine, but the growing since then seems very slow to me. I started the seeds the end of march and kept them in my basement, (which may be part of the problem, the temperature was too low even with the heat mat)They look healthy, just small and have very thin stems. I also started Bicopa from seed and they are even smaller, I will assume that the problems are related. What can be done (if anything) to save these little guys and speed their growth? AND...what did I do wrong to cause this. Very frustrated, so much time and money wasted...grr.

Here is a link that might be useful: {{gwi:241027}}

Comments (6)

• SaraElise
    10 years ago

Looks like insufficient lighting is the biggest problem. They are leggy and are trying to stretch toward the light on the right. What kind of grow light did you get? If you have a long growing container, you need either a long lightbulb (office fluorescent style) or 2 round types spread over each half (lamp style bulbs).

• SaraElise
    10 years ago

Most on the right look like they will be okay once they are in better light. The extra long ones on the left probably can't be saved -- unless you can repot them and include most of the stem under the soil. That's fine for some plants, but I'm not sure about petunias.

• art33
    10 years ago

Hi mike and welcome to GardenWeb! I agree with the other post, it appears the seedlings did not get enough light. What kind of grow light are you using and how far from the light were the seedling? One or two inches is usually about right for fluorescent tubes. Also, what kind of growing medium are you using, any nutrients in it?

Art

• mikerond
    Original Author