Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
oldscpmedic

What do you grow in your greenhouse for the winter....???

oldscpmedic
17 years ago

I am kind of new to all of this but I must admit the addition of a greenhouse just brings a bit of cheer to my winter days. With that said.....what are folks growing over the winter?

I have got petunias blooming, alyssum, a shocking pink verbena(Sissinghurst) COVERED in blooms, double-rose begonias, jasmines, african gardenias, tomatoes and basils.

And please forgive if there is already a forum with this but for the life of me I cannot find too much anywhere....

Thx...and the site is great!

Comments (26)

• tsmith2579
    17 years ago

I use my greenhouse primarily as a warehouse for tropical hibiscuses, palms, oleanders, citrus, alocasias, colcasias and xans. I am growing about 120 malviviscus arboreus and 40 or 50 hibiscus mutabilis Rubra (or Rubrum). I also take "insurance" cuttings of brugmansias every winter.

• conifers
    17 years ago

I use mine to sleep in when my utility bills reach too high.

No just kidding.

I just within the last few days got my grafting rootstocks in.

Dax

Seedlings are prepared for grafting:
    {{gwi:312284}}

Now they warm up for the next several weeks - then I Graft:
    {{gwi:312286}}

• orchiddude
    17 years ago

To see how I use my greenhouse during the winter, take a look at the link below.

http://forums2.gardenweb.com/forums/load/strucs/msg121450426324.html?33

Or you can scroll down to My Greenhouse at the bottom of the main page.

I will be adding some new pictures to that soon.

Rob

• User
    17 years ago

All kinds of tropicals...the following is just what is blooming right now: Mango 'Carrie', Lemon guava, Strawberry guava, Hibiscus, Plumbago, Plumeria, Barleria repens 'Rosea', Bulbine frutescens, 5 different kinds of Citrus, Duranta, Gardenia, Globba 'Mauve Dancing Girl', Angelwing jasmine, and my new favorite fragrant plant, Aglaia odorata.

• agardenstateof_mind
    17 years ago